Companion Species

For this assignment I am doing a photo essay. In this blog a narrative from my family members is collected and these narratives focus on the pet-human relations. A focus is placed on kinship, friendship and the emotional connectedness my family and friends feel towards these domestic pets. According to Haraway (2007:8-9), there is a constructive and historical relationship that dogs have with human beings. Haraway has a notion called the companion species. She describes the companion species as living with animals, as the truth of the relationships are trying to be told. She also describes active history and co-habiting as the work of companion species (Haraway 2007:20). Haraway (2007:20) states that there “cannot be just one companion species”.

 

Kumba: The Loving Cat:

 

1460527621702
I remember the first day I saw Kumba. I begged for a cat for a whole year and when I turned twelve my time had finally come to choose a cat. The cage in the pet store was filled with little kittens who pressed their faces against the cage for attention, but sitting in the middle of the playful kittens was my Kumba. He sat there with his eyes closed, but the moment I looked at him he opened his eyes and looked at me. That is when I knew this cat is my cat. The one I wanted to choose. He is not like other cats, who occasionally do not like to be touched. Kumba loves being cuddled and when my family and I sit in front of the television he sleeps on top of us and occasionally presses his head against our faces to get kisses. He shows love and affection towards us and he loves being around people. He loves being petted and cuddled and meows if you do not do this. We always say that Kumba is more like a dog that a cat. I absolutely love my cat.

 

Milo: The loyal dog:

 

1460527690687
Milo is a bouvier. My aunt and Uncle bought him after visiting a friend who has two of these wonderfully big dogs. Bouviers are nit common and a lot of people do not know of them. In Europe they are famous for biting Hitler and the result of this is these dogs almost becoming extinct. Milo is a very loyal dog and he loves people. He is particularly protective of my aunt and follows her around to make sure that she is safe. At one point he jumped over the 6 foot fence to fetch her from the neighbors. He is also a very naughty dog. Once he ate important documents of the church which caused a lot of problems. Bouviers are particularly big dogs, but Milo thinks he is a small baby. He walks on the bed and lies on people. My aunt says that Milo is lovable and can easily steal the hearts op people.

 

 

Amy: The shy cat:

 

1460491386267
Amy is another pet of my aunt and uncle. She is originally bought for my cousin Ruan, but she ended up loving his brother Quintin more. Amy is from the SBCA. While her mother was pregnant the owners took her to the SBCA and she had her kittens there. Amy is a very special cat. She is particularly shy and does not like children. She does not allow anyone to touch her except my cousin Quintin. He is the only one that can touch her and cuddle and kiss her. This shows the emotional bond that they share.

 

Loka: The leader of the household:

 

1460471176981
Loka is the pet of my mother’s friend Lizet. Lizet describes this dog as her “first baby”. She does not have any children and sees her dogs as her children. Loka is a saluki. She has a long family history of dogs winning awards in competitions. Loka follows a routine every day. First she wakes up the whole household. After eating breakfast she climbs on the couch and waits for someone to put a blanket on her. When Lizet leaves for work Loka runs to the food bowl expecting a treat. She is also described as the leader of the household. She is loving and caring and loves being around people. At night she climbs on the bed and lies against them.

Domestic pets change lives and bring happiness and love to a household as seen in the photo essay. They are wonderful and loving.

Word count: 687.

 

 

Sources Consulted:

Haraway, D. 2007. The Companion Species Manifesto: dogs, people, and significant otherness. Chicago: Prickly Paradigm Press.

 

 

 

One thought on “Companion Species

Leave a Reply

